Interreg Atlantic Area

As part of the European Union’s cohesion policy, the Interreg Atlantic Area programme (IAA) supports cooperation projects in 25 Atlantic regions in four countries: France, Ireland, Portugal and Spain, contributing to the achievement of European economic, social and territorial cohesion. Its overall objective is to implement solutions to joint regional challenges in the fields of innovation, resource efficiency, environment and cultural assets, supporting regional development and sustainable growth. With a global budget of EUR 113 million from the European Regional Development Fund (ERDF), the programme supports cooperation in the four thematic priorities and specific objectives, based on the outcomes of the territorial analysis:

  • Priority 1: Blue innovation and competitiveness (Smarter Europe; EUR 31,5 million);
  • Priority 2: Blue and green environment (Greener Europe; EUR 58,8 million);
  • Priority 3: Blue sustainable tourism and culture (Social Europe; EUR 18,7 million);
  • Priority 4: A better governance for cooperation (Interreg objective; EUR 4 million).

Useful links

  • Interreg Atlantic Area 2021-2027
  • Key documents
  • Managing Authority
    Norte Portugal Regional Coordination and Development Commission (CCDR-N)

    Know more

  • National contact point

Contactos NCPs